Gluten-Free Diet with Pecan

Q. I’ve been diagnosed with celiac disease and I’m on a strict gluten-free diet. Can I have pecans?

A. Yes! Georgia Pecans are a naturally gluten-free, nutritious food. Gluten is a protein found in certain types of grains, including all forms of wheat, rye, barley and triticale. Georgia Pecans contain protein, but it is not related to the gluten proteins that must be eliminated in the diets of people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. Pecans make a great gluten-free snack all by themselves or as toppings for gluten-free meat and vegetable dishes. While pecans are gluten-free, you’ll have to avoid some traditionally prepared pecan dishes, like pecan pie, pecan sandies or pecan muffins because of the grains they contain. However, there are lots of gluten-free recipes for these same foods that use gluten-free grains, such as rice flour or amaranth flour. If you’re making pecan pie, you can make your own gluten-free pie crust or, if you prefer something more convenient, you can also find gluten-free frozen pie shells at natural and organic grocery stores. A traditional pecan pie filling recipe, on the other hand, contains no gluten, so you can use your favorite filling for your gluten-free crust.

 

Comments (1)

  • Cathrine Ayles
    23 July 2013 at 02:56 |

    My sister and I love Georgia Pecans but she is sensitive to gluten so its great to know they are gluten free. Check out my blog at: http://www.glutensensitivity.org/

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.

Cancel Submitting comment...
Feature Recipes
Turkey Tenderloin
Butternut Squash Gratin
Grapefruit Salad